Author Topic: Very new to this!  (Read 2344 times)

Katrina

Very new to this!
« on: November 14, 2016, 08:44:07 PM »
Hi everyone  :)

I am looking to buy myself a telescope and was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on what to go for. I am very new to this and don't have a clue where to start.

I want a good one so don't mind spending a reasonable amount of money but nothing crazy.

Thank in advance,
Katrina  :)

Lorne

• CSOG'er
Re: Very new to this!
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2016, 09:35:09 PM »
Hiya Katrina,
Welcome to the forum.
Try to get to a local meetup before you buy something, that way you can see and try different types and sizes of telescopes and help decide which type you prefer.
L.

blinky

• CSOG'er
    • My Astro Imaging Blog
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2016, 11:41:03 PM »
Hi Katrina,

If your looking for something thats good for observing you cant get better than a dobsonian - any size really but the bigger the better!  Maybe an 8" Dob would be a good place to start.   You can get GoTo versions as well - these (once aligned) will allow you to select a target from the handset ad the scope will move to and track on that target. More expensive than a manual/non electric dobsonian but if you have some light pollution the goto saves you as you wont need to 'star hop' to your target.

As has been said, try and get to one of our meets, whenever its clear we try and get together, there is a popular spot near Livingston - Harrperig Reservoir or I have found a new place near me, just outside Gorebridge on the south side of Edinburgh.

Craig

perthskies

• CSOG'er
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2016, 10:17:10 AM »
Hi Katrina, where are you based in Scotland? As Craig and Lorne suggest, get along to a meet up with some of the folks on here.

There are a few womenfolk on this site also, could be a bit daunting meeting in the middle of nowhere in the dark with guys lol, but we are a good bunch.