Author Topic: Idiot beginner trying to image Jupiter  (Read 2048 times)

Beagleboy

Idiot beginner trying to image Jupiter
« on: May 10, 2016, 12:23:06 PM »
Hey folks.

I'm quite new to this astronomy malarky having only dipped my toes into the universe last September with the purchase of a Skywatcher Skyliner 200p, on a Dobsonian mount. I know it's not suited to astro imaging, but all I want to do is to be able to take the odd photo of the Moon etc, so I can bore my mates on Facebook.

With that in mind, and having had a very wobbly go at trying to snap images with a camera in front of the eyepiece (I think it's called afocal?), I managed to get my hands on a cheapo Orion Starshoot Solar System Colour Imager IV USB webcam that fits into the eyepiece. The lunar images I've gotten from it have been breathtaking,absolutely fabulous, and more than enough to fool my mates into thinking that I know what I'm doing. Even though in reality they're a bit blurry and wouldn't pass muster with you lot, I'm happy with them. :-)

What I'd really like to get a video of now is Jupiter, but I'm completely stumped! I can get him onscreen no problem, but only as a featureless white blob. No matter how I adjust settings in the various programs I've tried ( Wxastrocapture, Sharpcap and Ampcap), I'm always presented with this white, featureless circle about the size of a 10p on the screen with the moons visible at it's side.

I tried adding my x2.5 Revelation barlow to see if it was a focus problem as I'm near the limit of inward adjustment on my focuser when using the camera, but that didn't seem to make a difference either. I'm happy to accept that I've maybe got the wrong tools for the job, is that simply the case? Is Jupiter simply too small and distant a target for my camera and scope setup to work with?

Any advice would be appreciated!

C. :-)

blinky

• CSOG'er
    • My Astro Imaging Blog
Re: Idiot beginner trying to image Jupiter
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2016, 09:15:20 PM »