Author Topic: Webcam-ing your telescope  (Read 3872 times)

hootsitabernacle

Webcam-ing your telescope
« on: January 10, 2014, 08:24:53 PM »
Hi folks..just got a laptop at Christmas that has a built in webcam, I planned to use the laptop with a webcam to record shots of the moon etc. I bought a Philips toucam spc230 and an adapter, I took out the lens and screwed in the adapter..i also had a Logitech one and I done the same with that. Now I disabled the built in cam and downloaded the Logitech camera software fire..plugged in the camera and boooom..BSOD!..everytime it restarted itb just went straight into the BSOD..managed to delete it and tried the Philips..done the same and the same BSOD occurred.
now the question is..what the hell am I doing wrong..webcams work perfectly well on my desktop..what should I be doing?
Gordon
12" Dob, 8mm BST, 10 mm and 25 mm EP until I get something better x2 barlow filters etc
450d Canon
I'm new at this lark!

hootsitabernacle

Re: Webcam-ing your telescope
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2014, 09:38:15 PM »
okay so I got that problem fixed....nut when I put webcam in the barlow I see nada..i pointed it at the moon and nothing..can anyone advise what im doing wrong?
Gordon
12" Dob, 8mm BST, 10 mm and 25 mm EP until I get something better x2 barlow filters etc
450d Canon
I'm new at this lark!

G1ZmO

• CSOG Founder
  • Administrator
    • CSOG
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2014, 10:57:31 PM »
Gordon,

There's a wee prog called SharpCap http://www.sharpcap.co.uk/
which is apparently good for astro stuff