Central Scotland Observers Group Forum

General Category => Software, Reference & Education => Topic started by: gary1968 on July 05, 2015, 07:40:01 PM

Title: windows 10
Post by: gary1968 on July 05, 2015, 07:40:01 PM
Just noticed I have the free upgrade option from Win7 to Win10...... Is this a wise thing, does our beloved astro software work with Win10 or should I stay with Win7?

Cheers,
Gaz
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: Lorne on July 05, 2015, 08:02:29 PM
Got offered the same option too Gaz, swithering here about changing as I'm happy with 7, there was also rumours of a monthly subscription to get your Microsoft os in the future.......  :o


You could always go for it and let us know how it goes   8)


It'll be fine....... honest   ;D
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: gary1968 on July 05, 2015, 08:15:36 PM
Oh aye, I'll be the guinea pig. lol.
I am not sure I'll go for it tbh, this lappy runs fine, and more importantly, all my astro software works and is configured.

Cheers,
Gaz
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: wullmeister on July 05, 2015, 08:36:05 PM
It's crap I had it and removed it not compatible with any Astro stuff [emoji35] don't do the driver for them even if you install it on compatibly mode like win 7 they still don't work.   


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: Killie on July 05, 2015, 08:44:56 PM
I have signed up for it.


I look forward to all my astro stuff not working for several months  ;D
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: gary1968 on July 05, 2015, 09:35:32 PM
Thnx Wull, that's confirmed for me....

Sent from my Vodafone Smart 4 turbo using Tapatalk

Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: StuffedHaggis on July 20, 2015, 07:21:55 AM
From what I have read if you have with win 7 ,8 or 8.1 Home you will be forced to update. Win 7,8or 8.1 pro versions will be given a grace period.  IMG your pc soon if you get a chance.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: gary1968 on July 20, 2015, 10:01:34 PM
 Mine is win7 premium, not home. Maybe I'll be OK? Might be that my lappy gets chopped from the net if they try to force an unwanted update on it.

Sent from my Vodafone Smart 4 turbo using Tapatalk

Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: StuffedHaggis on July 21, 2015, 07:16:04 AM
Mine is win7 premium, not home. Maybe I'll be OK? Might be that my lappy gets chopped from the net if they try to force an unwanted update on it.

Sent from my Vodafone Smart 4 turbo using Tapatalk
Premium comes under their Home suite. If you would like a guide on how to take a backup image (Easy full backup) I am happy to knock one up quicky usisg free tools


Here is a link from CNET regarding possable forced upgrades.

[URL]http://www.cnet.com/uk/news/windows-10-home-edition-may-force-updates/[URL]

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: gary1968 on July 21, 2015, 09:53:41 AM
Yes, please.... I have no idea how to make an image for back up.

Sent from my Vodafone Smart 4 turbo using Tapatalk

Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: StuffedHaggis on July 21, 2015, 09:59:47 AM
Yes, please.... I have no idea how to make an image for back up.

Sent from my Vodafone Smart 4 turbo using Tapatalk
I will pm you in a bit

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: wullmeister on July 21, 2015, 10:52:48 AM
Microsoft can't force am upgrade like that to millions of computers as it requires a fresh install so would wipe everyone's information witch is not good and could end up Microsoft paying for companies computers for loss of data. You will prob get a message when the upgrade is available for download and install.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: StuffedHaggis on July 21, 2015, 11:01:31 AM
Microsoft can't force am upgrade like that to millions of computers as it requires a fresh install so would wipe everyone's information witch is not good and could end up Microsoft paying for companies computers for loss of data. You will prob get a message when the upgrade is available for download and install.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
So from my understanding. Is that any one that opts in to reserve a copy will be updated or forced to update . Pro versions can be deferd for up to one year.


If you do not reseve they will not update.

Sorry for not making that clear


Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: wullmeister on July 21, 2015, 11:06:15 AM
As long you have not filled in any information to reserve to upgrade you won't be upgraded your computer will just be as it is ie win 7 win 8.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: StuffedHaggis on July 21, 2015, 11:08:02 AM
I would recomend every one to upgrade tho.

Only Enterprise customers are not affected by this.

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: gary1968 on July 21, 2015, 12:04:02 PM
I'd be concerned that my astro software wouldn't work correctly, took me a while to get it running the way it is.

Sent from my Vodafone Smart 4 turbo using Tapatalk

Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: wullmeister on July 21, 2015, 12:37:19 PM
I would not recommend it if doing any astro stuff cause I tried it and non of my astro stuff worked on it and not even on compatible mode and won't support drivers [emoji35]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: StuffedHaggis on July 21, 2015, 12:43:50 PM
I would not recommend it if doing any astro stuff cause I tried it and non of my astro stuff worked on it and not even on compatible mode and won't support drivers [emoji35]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bo offence.  You cant say that yet. They have just released the RTM. Go live is next week. Also its the OEMs that need to release the correct drivers for all there equipment. I have had nouthing but a postive experience so far with 10.

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk

Title: windows 10
Post by: wullmeister on July 21, 2015, 01:08:33 PM
Until till they do bring the new drivers out witch won't be any time soon then it's still no good for ppl that do astro work yes we will have to wait but will it be worth all the grief to up date and can't do nothing. Like my self and others have there laptop setup and working the way they want it to. I use windows 7 never had any problems with it I bought a new laptop with windows 8 can't use my guide cam even I have the drivers I now have new hard drive in it and windows 7 on it. Just need to wait and see what happens i won't be upgrading to it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: StuffedHaggis on July 21, 2015, 01:39:26 PM
Until till they do bring the new drivers out witch won't be any time soon then it's still no good for ppl that do astro work yes we will have to wait but will it be worth all the grief to up date and can't do nothing. Like my self and others have there laptop setup and working the way they want it to. I use windows 7 never had any problems with it I bought a new laptop with windows 8 can't use my guide cam even I have the drivers I now have new hard drive in it and windows 7 on it. Just need to wait and see what happens i won't be upgrading to it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
For windows 8. Old drivers from win 7 can be used if driver sig is disabled on boot.

10 is the same. Most issues are with x86/x64 support.

There are mothods to get older legacy driver ect to work.

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: wullmeister on July 21, 2015, 01:43:24 PM
Ya I had tried a few methods but still nothing I sent laptop back as thought was a usb problem ended up with another new laptop that's y put new hdd in it with win 7. All good now [emoji106]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: StuffedHaggis on July 21, 2015, 01:46:38 PM
Ya I had tried a few methods but still nothing I sent laptop back as thought was a usb problem ended up with another new laptop that's y put new hdd in it with win 7. All good now [emoji106]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I have been through so may upgrades. I am happy to help anyone. i haved worked in OT for over 14 years now. Have learnt tricks of the taxe as you say.

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: StuffedHaggis on July 21, 2015, 03:40:11 PM
Ya I had tried a few methods but still nothing I sent laptop back as thought was a usb problem ended up with another new laptop that's y put new hdd in it with win 7. All good now [emoji106]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I have been through so may upgrades. I am happy to help anyone. i haved worked in OT for over 14 years now. Have learnt tricks of the taxe as you say.

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk
Here you guys go . Read this

 http://fortheloveoftech.com/2015/07/21/should-you-upgrade-to-windows-10-heres-a-guide-2/ (http://fortheloveoftech.com/2015/07/21/should-you-upgrade-to-windows-10-heres-a-guide-2/)

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: Killie on August 02, 2015, 10:04:54 PM
Well I have Windows 10 installed on my desktop as a test before moving over to the laptop and everything seems to be working fine so far. I just need to test the planetary camera later and then I will feel fine with upgrading the laptop.
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: StuffedHaggis on August 02, 2015, 10:15:57 PM
There is a facility in 10 to roll back to the previous OS. You have 30 days to day. Not sure how well it works tho

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: gary1968 on August 02, 2015, 10:48:45 PM
Well I have Windows 10 installed on my desktop as a test before moving over to the laptop and everything seems to be working fine so far. I just need to test the planetary camera later and then I will feel fine with upgrading the laptop.
Have you tested EQMOD, planetarium, PhD etc?

Sent from my Vodafone Smart 4 turbo using Tapatalk

Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: neilbuc on August 03, 2015, 05:04:11 PM
Un-install the KB3035583 , reboot, then update and change your update settings to "Download Updates but choose whether to let me install them" Check for updates and un-tick that KB3035583 patch. It is a recommended and not critical anyway. Also make sure the "Received Recommended update the same way etc etc " is un-ticked.


So even if you have signed up it won't force it on you. It did it to me and thankfully failed!!! I have removed the "Windows 10 Upgrade Readyness update KB3035583" so now it should never try again.


I am the Global Build Deployment Specialist for Standard Life and have been doing builds for 14 years.....my advice for you all, is to let others feel the pain first!!


I for one shall not be updating anything as I have no idea if any of my ascom software works ,financial apps etc etc will work. They might but I am not risking it yet.


Windows 7 is supported till 2020 anyway.


http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/windows/lifecycle


Dark Skies.


Neil

Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: Killie on August 03, 2015, 10:08:36 PM
Well I have Windows 10 installed on my desktop as a test before moving over to the laptop and everything seems to be working fine so far. I just need to test the planetary camera later and then I will feel fine with upgrading the laptop.
Have you tested EQMOD, planetarium, PhD etc?

Sent from my Vodafone Smart 4 turbo using Tapatalk


All my processing Software works (Astrostakkert, PIPP, Registax, DSS)
Stellarium works
Cartes du Cie
Sharpcap works but I need to test the driver for the webcam


I haven't tested EQMOD or PhD but it seems to have a few okay from SGL so far. To be honest, neil isn't wrong when he says others should feel your pain first if you are worried about it. I ain't that bothered as I do at times quite enjoy the chaos of trying to find the right drivers etc. To be honest, I am having less issue with 10 that I was when I moved to 8 in that everything so far is working..
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: Mike on August 03, 2015, 10:53:19 PM
This is a security bulletin from the MCT-SafeComputing-List.
An archive of all Safe Computing bulletins, including any updates, can be found at http://safecomputing.open.ac.uk/bulletins/safe-computing-bulletins .

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
B U L L E T I N   (ID: HKRI-9Z2L9B)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Imagine this scenario: a friend visits your house, and wishes to use your Wi-Fi.
You tell your friend your Wi-Fi password in confidence. They type it into their laptop, which has recently been upgraded to Windows 10. Your friend's laptop can now use your Wi-Fi connection, and you're fine with that. After all, they're your friend. You don't believe they are going to abuse the privilege. If you've chosen a complex, lengthy password like 7sAp {oMEmGD#YT)MzGdTLQM9C then chances are that your friend is not going to be able to remember your Wi-Fi password, even if they wanted to break your confidence. So far, so good.

But there's some bad news.
And that bad news is that your friend has Windows 10 installed on their laptop. And Windows 10 has a password-sharing feature called Wi-Fi Sense enabled by default. Requiring just a click and the password being re-entered by your friend, Wi-Fi Sense allows your friend's Skype and Outlook/Hotmail contacts (if they use Windows 10 or Windows 10 Mobile) to also log onto your Wi-Fi network, without you having to share your password with them. Access can also be shared with your friend's Facebook friends if they choose to allow that.

In other words, complete strangers could now use your Wi-Fi without your permission. And the password is now stored on Microsoft's server.

Microsoft's answer? If you don't want Wi-Fi Sense to scoop up your password when you share it with a friend, and then share it with that friend's friends and contacts you have to rename your Wi-Fi network.

Safe computing!

MCT-IT Development Group,
Faculty of Mathematics, Computing, and Technology at The Open University.
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: hootsitabernacle on August 04, 2015, 07:22:08 PM
I installed it...then after a day pulling what little hair I had left I deleted it and went back to win 7
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: Longjohn54 on August 05, 2015, 07:27:37 PM
As long you have not filled in any information to reserve to upgrade you won't be upgraded your computer will just be as it is ie win 7 win 8.


I've not signed up for an upgrade to Win 10, not even clicked the little advert for it on the task bar, however it appears to be already downloaded (my 120Gb ssd is showing 28Gb free instead of its normal 52Gb).

Also it is trying to install automatically as well.  Luckily it fails, however I have no way of stopping it as it does not appear in Windows Update except as a failed update.


John
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: neilbuc on August 05, 2015, 08:14:54 PM
John. Follow my suggestions about removing some kb updates. It will then stop trying. Mine has now.

Cheers

Neil
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: Longjohn54 on August 11, 2015, 09:52:01 PM
I've removed the KB's listed on the MS site and set updates to manual but it's made no difference.  Also it appears to be trying to install Win 10 Insider Preview rather than the released version.

On the plus side on SGL there's a useful thread about what astro software works (or not) with Win 10 so I may bite the bullet and go for the upgrade.
http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/249285-windows-10-what-works-and-what-doesnt/ (http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/249285-windows-10-what-works-and-what-doesnt/)
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: wullmeister on August 18, 2015, 11:05:46 PM
Well I thought I would try with windows 10 again as it's fully released so I put windows 10 pro onto an old laptop hard drive just to give it one last go as a lot of ppl was going on about how much better it is well am happy to inform that all the software I use for astro imaging works very well even my starshot guide scope so here is my list.

Ascom eqmod with Bluetooth
Cartes du ciel
Back yard eos
Canon eos utility
Deep sky stacker
Registax 6
PhD guiding 2.5.0 with starshot guide scope
Photo shop 6
Lightroom 5.6

All this is working for me will be doing more tests before I go the full way and start using it when going out. Hope this might help some ppl about it.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: neilbuc on August 19, 2015, 11:28:23 AM
Cool.

I too put Windows 10 on my other Laptop. Looks ok so far.

Cheers
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: Andy on August 20, 2015, 05:36:32 PM
Here guys - not trying to hijack this thread but I'm looking for some free image processing software to mess around with the m45 exposures we ( Lorne and Wullie really ) took the other night. Any suggestions? Been looking on SGL and all they do is argue about what is the "best"

Andy[/size][size=78%] [/size]
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: gary1968 on August 20, 2015, 06:20:56 PM
Andy, try 'Gimp',just google it. It does pretty much all photoshop does, I used it before it got a hooky copy of PS CS5.
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: Andy on August 20, 2015, 06:31:51 PM
Thanks Gaz - will do
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: gary1968 on August 20, 2015, 06:42:31 PM
Cool, just remember you have to stack the subs with deep sky stacker first. ......
Title: Re: windows 10
Post by: Skipper Billy on September 06, 2015, 03:04:42 PM
First imaging session of the new season last night and with Windows 10 on the laptop.

Happy to report that everything that worked under Windows 7 works in Windows 10 - Stellarium, EQMOD, EQDIR, Astrotortilla, FocusMax, Moonlite electronic focuser, Maxim DL5 (required re-installation), PHD2, Artemis, EFW2 filter wheel, APT and all the Atik and QHY drivers worked fine.  Pixinsight and Photoshop both OK too.

Bit of a none event really (thankfully!) Don't want to appear smug just trying to reduce the fears of anyone contemplating it !!